

News Release

2018 IOWA FFA SECRETARY'S BOOK CAREER DEVELOPMENT EVENT

90th Iowa FFA State Leadership Conference

AMES, IA - The Iowa FFA Secretary's Book Leadership Event was held at Iowa State University, Ames, on Monday, April 23, 2018. Twelve chapters participated in this year's Career Development Event (CDE). The first place chapter for the event was the East Sac FFA Chapter. Their agriculture education instructors and FFA advisors are Mr. Ben Wise and Ms. Larissa Rupnow. The second place chapter for the event was the Decorah FFA Chapter. Their agriculture education instructors and FFA advisors are Ms. Joni Bruvold and Mr. Rick Twedt.

The Secretary's Book CDE requires the Chapter Secretary to keep complete and accurate records of the chapter's activities. Chapter Secretaries must include the chapter FFA roster, meeting agendas, meeting minutes, committee reports, and copies of all chapter correspondence. The Iowa FFA Secretary's Book CDE was made possible with support from Hubbard Feeds through the Iowa FFA Foundation.

The results from the Secretary's Book CDE are listed below.

###

About Iowa FFA Association

The Iowa FFA Association is a youth organization of over 15,300 student members as part of 235 local FFA chapters across Iowa. The FFA mission is to make a positive difference in the lives of students by developing their potential for premier leadership, personal growth and career success through agricultural education. The Iowa FFA Association was organized by delegates from 23 schools at Iowa State College on May 17, 1929 and is an integral part of public instruction in agriculture. The Iowa Department of Education provides leadership and helps set direction for FFA as a service to local agricultural education programs. For more, visit the Iowa FFA Association online at IowaFFA.com, on Facebook, and Twitter.

Place FFA Member Name(s)		Chapter P. O.	Rating
1	Katelyn Bettin and Sidney Ringgenberg	Lake View	Gold
2	Jaden Anderson	Decorah	Gold
3	Keagan Betsinger	Nashua	Gold
	Heather Cernek	DeWitt	Silver
	Dana Edleman	Huxley	Silver
	Nathan Manternach and Devin Devore	Osceola	Silver

Iowa FFA Association -- 2

Averie Hascall	Red Oak	Silver
Isaac Wiley	Vinton	Silver
Hunter Hayes and Hannah Doolittle	Webster City	Silver
Cassidy Rourke and David Murray	Wellman	Silver
Aaron Hartman	Akron	Bronze
Navey Schafer	Guthrie Center	Bronze